Sneak Peak Article: Why Living for Jesus Is the Ultimate Adventure

travel

By: Kylie Jacobs

All images from weheartit

Freedom. That’s a word I think of quite often. It’s also one of the only things I have ever wanted in life. You see, growing up, I didn’t have a normal life like all of my friends. I was constantly being shut out from the world. Having a special needs sister was always hard, because she would become neutropenic and that meant saying goodbye to the outside world, for ALL OF US.

I have never been out of state before or traveled anywhere, really. Vacation for me means going to my grandparents’ house only a few hours away, and oh, how I long to go somewhere new and exciting. Every time I go on Pinterest, my feed fills with photographs of beaches, exotic foods, and amazing sites! I long to go to these places and see the wonders God has created. Yet every time I go on Pinterest my heart aches, because I know that I can’t go on those adventures and I probably never will be able to.

Never will be able to.

pink

That’s when I made the decision a long time ago to always make life an adventure, no matter where I am or what I am doing. My imagination has always been able to go to great lengths, so why not use it? Since then, every day I have chosen to make ordinary circumstances the ride of a lifetime, whether that’s cleaning my house, going for a nice walk, or even trying a new recipe. I have always tried my hardest to make the best out of it, yet this has never been enough for me. I still long to travel.

Anger…Jealousy…

This desire quickly became an obsession filled with anger and jealousy. Watching my friends go to places that I could only see in my dreams – they had no idea how blessed they were. It was simply an annual thing for them. These feelings I was having soon drove me to do reckless, crazy things – standing on top of ledges with a hundred-foot drop to the bottom and jumping to the next, chaining myself to the bottom of a pool only to make it out by seconds – crazy stupid things like these. I wanted adventure! I wanted the thrill! If I couldn’t have it, then I would make it for myself.

I would make it for myself

As I hope you can tell by reading this, it was a very unhealthy and dangerous obsession. That’s why God had to tell me to wake up! You see, when I became a Christian, I accepted a challenge. I didn’t know it at the time, but I basically said that I am ready for war. Following a man who is hated by everyone just for being Himself is the greatest adventure of all. If I wanted reckless, I should have stopped looking for it. It was right beside me the whole time. We live in a world today that wants to kill the name of Jesus. LITERALLY. By choosing to follow Him, I chose an adventure. I chose to be prosecuted, I chose joy, I chose miracles, I chose to be different. Having Jesus as a part of my life has been the greatest adventure I could ever dream of. Yes it can be hard, but it’s worth it. So what makes Jesus the ultimate adventure?

  1. Sacrifice

I have lost loved ones for this man, I have sacrificed my safety, my reputation, everything. In my opinion, the greatest adventures start with either losing or sacrificing something so you can have it. Not only did this man sacrifice Himself for you, but in order to be a true follower…you have to sacrifice yourself for Him.

blue

2. Danger

I can’t live without a little danger in my life (oh, my poor future husband…). That’s what makes the adventure fun! That’s what keeps you pressing on! It doesn’t matter where you live, you are always in danger when you choose to follow Christ – look at Rachel Joy Scott, for instance. Anything can happen. But you are doing the RIGHT thing, and that’s all that matters.

3. The Joy

The joy that comes with Christ…there is nothing like it. No other adventure can make you feel the happiness that Jesus does. That is what makes you want to have MORE adventures. It’s like a secret potion.

yellow

4. Fulfillment

Last but not least…the fulfillment you get from running in Jesus’s squad. I have never felt more accomplished in my life than when I do something that I know pleases Him. There is no other greater accomplishment! Don’t have wasted, useless adventures – they give you nothing in return.

From now on, every adventure I go on will start with Jesus, and I will never regret my life with Him. So, is your life an adventure?

This was a sneak peak article into our newest issue coming out in a few weeks! We cant wait for you guys to read it! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

